Skip to main content
United States flag An official website of the United States government
Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Todd M. Harper Named FFIEC Chairman

April 2021
Todd M. Harper Named FFIEC Chairman

(April 1, 2021) – Todd M. Harper, Chairman, National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), has been named Chairman of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC). His two-year term runs from April 1, 2021, through March 31, 2023. The Council also named Blake Paulson, Acting Comptroller of the Currency, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC), as its new vice chairman for the same two-year term.

“I am honored to serve as the next Chairman of the FFIEC and will work to foster communication, cooperation, and coordination within the Council to advance greater uniformity and best practices in supervision,” said Mr. Harper. “I want to thank past Chairmen Kathleen Kraninger and David Uejio for their service to the FFIEC. Going forward, our work will focus on the COVID-19 economic fallout, safety and soundness, consumer financial protection, economic equity and justice, cybersecurity, appraisals, and stakeholder collaboration.”

Mr. Harper became the NCUA’s twelfth Chairman on January 20, 2021. He previously served as an NCUA Board member, director of the agency’s then-Office of Public and Congressional Affairs, and chief policy advisor to former Chairmen Debbie Matz and Rick Metsger, advising both on FFIEC matters. Prior to his tenure at the NCUA, Mr. Harper worked for the U.S. House of Representatives as staff director for the Subcommittee on Capital Markets, Insurance, and Government-Sponsored Enterprises.

Mr. Harper holds an undergraduate degree in business analysis from Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business and a graduate degree in public policy from Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government.

The FFIEC was established in March 1979 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms and to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. It also conducts schools for examiners employed by the five federal member agencies represented on the FFIEC and makes those schools available to employees of state agencies that supervise financial institutions. The Council consists of the following six voting members: a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; the Comptroller of the Currency; the Chairman of the National Credit Union Administration; and the Chairman of the State Liaison Committee.

Agency Contact Phone
Federal Reserve Darren Gersh 202.452.2955
CFPB Michael Robinson 202.435.7170
FDIC Julianne Breitbeil 202.898.6895
NCUA Joseph Adamoli 703.518.6330
OCC Stephanie Collins 202.649.6870
SLC Catherine Pickels 202.728.5734
Last modified on