Skip to main content
United States flag An official website of the United States government
Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Mission and Values


Protecting the system of cooperative credit and its member-owners through effective chartering, supervision, regulation, and insurance.


Strengthen communities and protect consumers by ensuring equitable financial inclusion through a robust, safe, sound, and evolving credit union system.


  • Integrity — Adhere to the highest ethical and professional standards.
  • Accountability — Accept responsibilities and meet commitments.
  • Transparency — Be open, direct, and frequent in communications.
  • Inclusion — Foster a workplace culture that values diverse backgrounds, experience, and perspectives.
  • Proficiency — Deploy a workforce with a high degree of skill, competence, and expertise to maximize performance.


Created by the U.S. Congress in 1970, the National Credit Union Administration is an independent federal agency that insures deposits at federally insured credit unions, protects the members who own credit unions, and charters and regulates federal credit unions.

A three-member Board of Directors oversees the NCUA’s operations by setting policy, approving budgets and adopting rules. Each Board Member is appointed by the president and confirmed by the Senate. The president also designates the Chairman of the NCUA Board. No more than two Board members can be from the same political party, and each member serves a staggered six-year term.

The NCUA protects the safety and soundness of the credit union system by identifying, monitoring and reducing risks to the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund. Backed by the full faith and credit of the United States, the Share Insurance Fund provides up to $250,000 of federal share insurance to millions of account holders in all federal credit unions and the overwhelming majority of state-chartered credit unions.

The NCUA also plays a role in helping to ensure broader financial stability as a member of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council. This council is responsible for developing uniform principles, standards and report forms, and for promoting uniformity in the supervision of depository financial institutions. The NCUA’s Chairman is also a voting member of the Financial Stability Oversight Council, an interagency body tasked with identifying and responding to emerging risks and threats to the financial system.

The agency operates its headquarters in Alexandria, Virginia; its Asset Management and Assistance Center in Austin, Texas, to liquidate credit unions and recover assets; and three regional offices, which carry out the agency’s supervision and examination program.

NCUA Regional Structure as of January 2023
Last modified on