Skip to main content
United States flag An official website of the United States government
Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Acting Comptroller of the Currency Michael J. Hsu Named FFIEC Chair

March 2023
Acting Comptroller of the Currency Michael J. Hsu Named FFIEC Chair

(March 31, 2023) – The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) today announced Michael J. Hsu, Acting Comptroller, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, as its Chair.  Mr. Hsu’s two-year term runs from April 1, 2023, through March 31, 2025. The FFIEC also named Michael S. Barr, Vice Chair for Supervision, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, as its new Vice Chair for the same two-year term.

Mr. Hsu became Acting Comptroller of the Currency on May 10, 2021. He previously served in the Division of Supervision and Regulation at the Federal Reserve Board of Governors, at the International Monetary Fund, the U.S. Department of the Treasury, and the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Mr. Hsu holds an undergraduate degree from Brown University, a master of science in finance from George Washington University, and a juris doctor degree from New York University School of Law.

The FFIEC was established in March 1979 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms and to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. It also conducts schools for examiners employed by the five federal member agencies represented on the FFIEC and makes those schools available to employees of state agencies that supervise financial institutions. The Council consists of the following six voting members: a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; the Comptroller of the Currency; the Chairman of the National Credit Union Administration; and the Chairman of the State Liaison Committee.

Agency Contact Phone
Federal Reserve Laura Benedict 202.452.2955
CFPB Michael Robinson 202.597.4022
FDIC Julianne Fisher Breitbeil 202.898.6895
NCUA Ben Hardaway 703.518.6333
OCC Stephanie Collins 202.649.6870
SLC Laura Fisher 202.360.4918
Last modified on