Skip to main content
United States flag An official website of the United States government
Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NCUA-CDFI Certification Initiative

​​​​What is Community Development Financial Institutions certification?

The U. S. Treasury Department’s Community Development Financial Institutions Fund designates organizations that provide financial services to low-income communities and to people who lack access to financing and that meet certain criteria as Community Development Financial Institutions.

Credit unions certified as CDFIs are eligible to apply for awards through a variety of competitive programs administered by the CDFI Fund. These awards enable CDFIs to finance a wide range of activities, including:

  • Mortgage lending for first-time homebuyers,
  • Flexible underwriting for community facilities, and
  • Commercial loans for businesses in low-income areas.

The CDFI Fund’s website has more information about the agency, CDFI designation, and its various programs.

How would CDFI certification benefit my credit union?

If your credit union is certified as a CDFI, it can:

  • Apply for funding through the CDFI Fund’s competitive CDFI Program and Native American CDFI Assistance Program, if applicable;
  • Training and Technical Assistance opportunities sponsored by the CDFI Fund; and
  • Funding from funders other than the CDFI Fund.

How do I apply?

Use the guidance and application available on the CDFI Fund website.

How can I find more information?

Last modified on