Skip to main content
United States flag An official website of the United States government
Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Research Minority Depository Institution (MDI) Designation

Research Minority Depository Institution (MDI) Designation

For a federally insured credit union to qualify for an MDI designation, more than 50 percent of its current members, potential members, and current board members must be Asian American, Black American, Hispanic American, or Native American.

NCUA offers training, technical assistance, and a mentoring program and for low-income-designated MDIs, grants and loans.

To become an MDI, a credit union must self-designate as an MDI using the online Credit Union Profile and respond “yes” to both “Minority Depository Institutions Questions” in the Profile.

The NCUA’s MDI Preservation Program is designed to preserve and promote eligible minority credit unions as prescribed by Section 367 of the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act.  Credit unions designated as minority depository institutions provide safe, affordable financial services to members and communities who are often unserved or underserved by financial institutions  More information on MDIs can be found on NCUA’s website


Last modified on