Skip to main content
United States flag An official website of the United States government
Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Research Community Development Financial Institution (CDFI) Certification

Research Community Development Financial Institution (CDFI) Certification

The U.S. Treasury Department’s Community Development Financial Institutions Fund designates organizations that provide financial services to low-income communities and to people who lack access to financing and that meet certain criteria as a Community Development Financial Institution (CDFI).

Credit unions certified as CDFIs are eligible to apply for awards through a variety of programs administered by the CDFI Fund.  These awards enable CDFIs to finance a wide range of activities, including:

  • Mortgage lending for first-time homebuyers,
  • Flexible underwriting for community facilities, and
  • Commercial loans for businesses in low-income areas.

If your credit union is certified as a CDFI, it can:

  • Apply for funding through the CDFI Fund’s competitive CDFI Program and Native American CDFI Assistance Program, if applicable;
  • Access training and technical assistance opportunities sponsored by the CDFI Fund; and
  • Accept funding from funders other than the CDFI Fund.

More information on becoming a CDFI is found on the NCUA-CDFI Certification Initiative webpage.


Last modified on